top of page

Member Spotlight, Jessica Roshak

1. Tell us a little about yourself.

Hey y'all! I"m Jessica Roshak. I graduated from Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, OH, (Ay Ziggy Zoomba!) which is where I joined the Gamma Tau chapter of Delta Zeta. Right after graduation I married my college sweetheart and moved to Waco, TX where I got my Master's of Higher Education Administration from Baylor University (Sic 'Em!). I absolutely loved living in Texas, but ended up moving out to Sonoma County California for a bit for a job. I currently live in Commerce, TX and work at Texas A&M University-Commerce as the Assistant Director of Fraternity & Sorority Life.

When I"m not working, I enjoy being outside or playing with my puppy, Tucker.

2. Why did you join Delta Zeta?

I still remember recruitment like it was yesterday! At BGSU, we had 13 sororities, so plenty to choose

from. What made Delta Zeta stand out is that the women looked like the were genuinely having fun before the round started. The chapters did cheers outside of the house and rather than being picture perfect and rehearsed, they were dancing around and laughing while trying to remember the words to the chant. Not only was it entertaining to watch, but I felt like I was seeing them be their authentic selves, which was refreshing.

When I got into the house and was talking with the women, nothing felt forced. We laughed, we enjoyed our conversations, and time flew by. From day one, I knew this was where I was meant to be and my experience didn't disappoint!

3. What positions did you hold as a collegian in Delta Zeta?

Oh boy, a better question is what did I not do... I started out as the Community Service Chairwoman my freshman year and was *told* that I was going to be the Vice President of Programs by some of the older members when a sister had to step down from her position. Little did I know that it would change the course of my time in Delta Zeta for the better. From there, I became chapter president and served on numerous committees. I was even lucky enough to get to go to Convention in San Antonio, TX! Who knew that I'd end up back in the Lonestar State, still involved in DZ?

4. What was the most rewarding part of your collegiate experience in Delta Zeta?

Honestly, the connections and opportunities that being a member of the chapter allowed me to have. I

went from being someone who wasn't involved in anything in high school, to the person who was involved in everything in college. When I was a freshman, my chapter president sent me an application for a scholarship program within the Office of Service-Learning. I ended up applying and being granted a spot in the program that paid for the three remaining years of college. I was also able to get involved in Homecoming Student Steering Committee, work on campus in the Dean of Students Office, and serve on the Panhellenic Executive Board. These experiences not only helped me feel connected to DZ and the university, but helped me to become the person I am today.

5. How long have you been a member of PCCA?

I actually just joined this year! When I moved to the area, I didn't know a soul other than my husband and wanted to get involved. I saw that there was an alumnae chapter close by and reached out. The women were so incredibly welcoming and willing to help me get acclimated to the area.

6. What has been the most rewarding part of your alumnae experience in Delta Zeta?

Though I cannot speak too much into my experience with PCCA quite yet, the one thing that stands out to me is the network that I have by being a Delta Zeta. I would have never had the courage to move somewhere I didn't know a soul, but I do now because I know that there are sisters all across the country and know what it means to build community. I cannot thank DZ enough for all that the sorority has taught me over the years!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page