top of page

Member Spotlight: Jennifer Hudson-Allen


  1. Tell us a little about yourself.

My name is Jennifer Hudson-Allen, and I am the Scholarship Chairwoman for PCCA. I am a native New Yorker but have lived in the DFW area since 1991. Currently, I am a professor in the History Department at Brookhaven College in Dallas. I teach US History, World Civilizations, and African-American history to diverse student populations. I attended the University of Texas-Arlington (UTA) as both an undergraduate and graduate student. I received a BA in History and English in 1996, an MA in History in 1999, and was awarded my Doctorate in transatlantic history in 2005. When not teaching, I travel, serve on the local library advisory board, scuba dive, read, and spend time with my Doberman, Franklin.

  1. Why did you join Delta Zeta?

I joined the Iota Psi chapter of Delta Zeta at UTA in 1992 because my biological sister was a Delta Zeta at the same chapter. I went through traditional recruitment, but knew after the first day my home was Delta Zeta. So, I only placed them on my bid card. I wanted the best, or nothing at all. I have never regretted that decision. I have met many amazing women, and I can say my sister and I are sisters twice over.

  1. What positions did you hold as a collegian in Delta Zeta? As a collegiate member, I was VP of New Member Education and VP of Membership in the campus chapter. I also served as the Secretary and Vice President of the campus Panhellenic Council and the President of Order of Omega.

  2. What was the most rewarding part of your collegiate experience in Delta Zeta?

I think the most rewarding part of my college experience would be the opportunities I found within Delta Zeta at the campus and province level. I was able to try new things, serve my sorority in different capacities, gain a deeper understanding of volunteerism and philanthropy, and try for awards and honors that I would not have otherwise attempted. Those lessons have followed me throughout life, and provided me with the confidence to try new things, apply for grants and awards, and continue to volunteer.

  1. How long have you been a member of PCCA? I joined PCCA several years ago after a two-decade hiatus from sorority life. I realized how much I missed the sisterhood and the ability to share experiences with others. I also wanted to get involved in the community and PCCA has provided that opportunity to me.

  2. What has been the most rewarding part of your alumnae experience in Delta Zeta? I have met new sisters who have become friends, served the sorority at the

national level, and met other sorority women through area alumnae Panhellenic groups. The volunteer opportunities have also been wonderful. And, the ability to offer scholarships to women who will experience recruitment and sorority life is exciting. I finally have the opportunity and ability to give back to Delta Zeta.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page